Costs, licensing, consumer protection Privacy, self-custody, censorship resistance

BBVA — Carta di Credito Carta di Credito BBVA

A plan by BBVA — Carta di Credito · Mastercard

3.7/5 1.5/5
FX markup 0%

Data verified on unchanged since the sources

Worth it if you spend often in foreign currency and pay in full: the FX fee is 0% and the first year is free, with a fee of just €36 that is easy to waive.

Avoid it if you withdraw cash or plan to use instalments: withdrawals cost 4% (€3 minimum) and instalments carry a real 6.21% APR despite the 0% nominal rate.

The BBVA credit card is issued by the Italian branch of BBVA S.A. (a Spanish bank) on the Mastercard network. It is free the first year; from the second the fee is €36/year, but it is easily waived — with €6,000 of annual spending or by making at least one instalment plan (−50% with €3,000 of spending). Its strength is the 0% foreign-exchange fee, like TF Bank. Purchases and withdrawals above €50 can be split into 3 to 36 instalments at 0% APR (6.21% APR-equivalent, which includes fees). Note: tying the fee waiver to 'making at least one instalment plan' is an explicit nudge to use instalment credit.

Carta di Credito BBVA

Price
Free

What's included

  • 1st year free, then €36/year waivable
  • Waived with €6,000 annual spend or ≥1 instalment plan (−50% with €3,000)
  • FX 0% on currency conversion
  • Instalments >€50 over 3–36 months at 0% APR (6.21% APR-equivalent)
  • Withdrawals 4% min €3 · Mastercard network
0%
FX markup
Not disclosed
Cashback
Free
Annual fee
Free
Issuance fee
6.21%
APR
58
Transparency: Medium
58/100 · see methodology
58
Data exposure: Medium
58/100 · lower is better for sovereignty · methodology

Data & conditions

Network Mastercard
Card type Revolving credit
Backing Unsecured
APR 6.21%
Issuing bank BBVA S.A.
Issuance fee Free
Annual fee Free
ATM withdrawal 4%
FX markup 0%
Cashback Not disclosed
Contactless Yes
KYC Full
Privacy 2/10
Supported countries EEA · 1+ countries
Funding / solidity Gruppo bancario spagnolo · carta di credito con FX 0% e rateizzazione a TAN 0%
Regulator Banco de España / BCE · Banca d'Italia per la succursale
Segment B2C
Funding / soliditySpanish banking group · credit card with FX 0% and 0%-rate instalments
MiCA / License status Banca (Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria S.A., vigilata da Banco de España e BCE; opera in Italia tramite succursale) Bank supervised by Banco de España/ECB, operating in Italy through a branch

Strengths

  • 0% foreign-exchange fee: excellent for spending in foreign currency
  • First year free and the €36 fee easily waived from the second year
  • Instalments on purchases and withdrawals >€50 over 3–36 months at 0% APR (6.21% APR-equivalent)
  • Widely accepted Mastercard network
  • No notable sovereignty advantage documented.

Weaknesses

  • €36/year fee from the second year unless you meet the spending thresholds
  • Waiver also conditional on 'making at least one instalment plan', which nudges towards instalment credit
  • Expensive cash withdrawals: 4% with a €3 minimum per transaction
  • Requires a BBVA Italia account; 6.21% instalment APR-equivalent despite the 0% nominal rate
  • Traditional credit card: not self-custody — the account requires full KYC, a credit check, and can be closed or reported to credit bureaus by the issuer.
  • Full KYC required: verified identity, zero pseudonymity.
  • Funds can be frozen at the platform’s discretion.
  • Subject to regulation (Bank supervised by Banco de España/ECB, operating in Italy through a branch): reporting to authorities and freezes on order.
  • FATF-aligned jurisdiction: strong cooperation with authorities.

Verdict

B D ★ 3.7/5 ★ 1.5/5

On cost it is a good card: 0% currency conversion (like TF Bank), a free first year and a fee of just €36 that is easy to waive, with the option to pay in instalments at a 0% nominal rate. It earns 3.7/B. The reservation weighing on the score is by design: BBVA ties the fee waiver partly to 'making at least one instalment plan', effectively nudging towards instalment credit — and the real instalment APR-equivalent is 6.21% despite the 0% nominal rate, because it includes fees. Excellent for foreign-currency spenders who pay in full; use with care if tempted to take instalments just to avoid the fee.

A credit card is a credit line, not custody of funds: there is neither self-custody nor a user balance here. It remains a fully tracked and censorable instrument — full KYC, a bank issuer (BBVA S.A.) that profiles transactions and can suspend the line. On the sovereignty lens it is the opposite of trustless tools: no anonymity, no censorship resistance.

Privacy & anonymity 30% 1.0
Fund control 20% 2.2
Censorship resistance 20% 1.4
Trustless / auditability 20% 0.0
Costs 10% 4.6

Promp's editorial rating based on real fees and net annual cost. Promp reviews third-party products independently.

"Sovereignty" rating: score computed on privacy/anonymity (30%), fund control (20%), censorship resistance (20%), trustless/auditability (20%) and costs (10%). Same data, different weights.

Reputation

What happened to people who used BBVA — Carta di Credito, and what users say. External signals: they do not feed the promp.it rating.

Incidents & regulatory actions

Notable incidents

Documented events with consequences still open. Each entry carries a source and a date.

  1. Regulatory action Moderate ● open

    Marketing messages pushed through the app although the customer had opted out: EUR 5.508 million fine from the Italian data protection authority against BBVA's Italian branch, which runs the app the card is managed through (decision no. 613 of 3 September 2026)

    On 11 March 2026 a customer complained to the Italian data protection authority (Garante) that they kept receiving marketing messages inside the bank's app although they had switched the setting off and had told customer service they objected, on 2 October and 9 December 2025. The promotional notifications continued anyway: at least ten of them between October 2025 and May 2026. In its defence the bank admitted the cause: the opt-out had been recorded by its internal systems but was never synchronised with the CRM unit that actually sends the messages. The authority held that recording a refusal in one database is not enough if the infrastructure that uses the data keeps operating as though the right had never been exercised. By decision no. 613 of 3 September 2026 — made public on 11 September — the Garante declared the processing unlawful for breach of Articles 5(1)(a), 12, 21 and 24 GDPR, ordered payment of EUR 5,508,000, required the bank to put in place technical and organisational measures adequate to support the exercise of data subject rights and to report back within 30 days, and ordered publication of the decision, partly in view of an earlier decision against the same company for related breaches. Two points change how the figure should be read. First, the findings concern ONE complainant and ten notifications, not a body of customers; the amount is large because Article 83(5) GDPR scales it to group turnover, not because the breach reached a large population. Second, this is not a data leak — no information is reported to have reached third parties. The case is not closed: the bank has 30 days to pay, may settle by paying half the fine, or may challenge the decision before the ordinary courts. For the individual complainant the defect appears fixed: since 13 May 2026 they no longer receive the notifications, and the bank says it has strengthened the alignment between opt-out requests and the sending platform.

    ↗ source

verified on

Public reviews

4.8/5 110,865 reviews
  • Google Play ↗ 4.7/5 56,671 reviews

    "BBVA Italia | Banca Online" app (com.bbva.italy) on Google Play IT. Exact count from the page's JSON-LD structured data: ratingValue 4.737544 and ratingCount 56,671; the visible label rounds to "56.7K". It covers the banking app as a whole, not the credit card alone.

  • App Store ↗ 4.8/5 54,194 reviews

    "BBVA Italia | Banca Online" app (ID 1536949050) on the Italian storefront — a separate app from the Spanish one. Exact figure from the iTunes Lookup endpoint: averageUserRating 4.79208 across 54,194 ratings. The score covers the mobile banking app as a whole (account, transfers, support), not the credit card alone.

Weighted average across 2 public review platforms (110,865 reviews in total), weighted by volume. This is not our rating: it is those platforms’ average.

FAQ

How much does the BBVA credit card cost?

It is free the first year. From the second the fee is €36/year, waived with €6,000 of annual spending or by making at least one instalment plan (−50% with €3,000). There is no issuance fee.

What fees apply on foreign spending and instalments?

The foreign-exchange fee is 0%. Purchases and withdrawals above €50 can be split into 3 to 36 instalments at 0% nominal rate (6.21% APR-equivalent). Cash withdrawals cost 4% with a €3 minimum.

Sources

Update history

✓ Terms unchanged since Jul 12, 2026

🔔 Notify me of changes

← All BBVA — Carta di Credito plans