Costs, licensing, consumer protection Privacy, self-custody, censorship resistance

BlackCatCard BlackCatCard Free

A plan byBlackCatCard

3.8/5 2.1/5
Account fee Free

Data verified on unchanged since the sources

Worth it if you hold euro balances and want a free account with a Maltese IBAN, up to 4% APY on the balance and light KYC.

Avoid it if you want the protection of a deposit-guarantee scheme: here there's only safeguarding, no insurance, and the FX markup is 3%.

A free custodial account with a Maltese IBAN, up to 4% APY on balance and cashback of 2% on Amazon and 5% on Google Play. Funds are not covered by deposit insurance but only by safeguarding, alongside reports of spam marketing and crypto access available only via third parties.

BlackCatCard Free

Price
Free
Issuance fee
Free
FX markup
3%
Cashback
0.5%
Cashback currency
EUR
Cashback cap
€100
Required staking
Nessuno
ATM fee
1%
ATM limit
€200/mese gratis in UE, poi 1%
Net annual cost
Free

What's included

  • EU IBAN
  • Visa/Mastercard
  • Crypto exchange integrato
Free
Account fee
Not disclosed
Deposit guarantee
1%
ATM withdrawal
Not disclosed
Network
60
Transparency: Medium
60/100 · see methodology
60
Data exposure: Medium
60/100 · lower is better for sovereignty · methodology

Data & conditions

Account fee Free
IBAN dedicato · MT
Multi-currency No (single currency)
Outbound transfers to third-party IBANs Yes
Utility direct billing No
SEPA direct debit (SDD) No
SEPA transfer Free
Interest on balance 4%
ATM withdrawal 1%
Free ATM limit €200/mese gratis in UE, poi 1%
Fund custody Custodial (platform holds funds)
KYC Light
Supported countries EEA, UK · 40+ countries
Regulator MFSA
OAM Italy registration No
Segment B2C
MiCA / License status EMI Malta MFSA

Strengths

  • Free account with a Maltese IBAN; up to 4% APY on balance; 2% cashback on Amazon and 5% on Google Play.
  • Light KYC: minimal identity verification.

Weaknesses

  • No deposit insurance (only safeguarding); marketing-spam reports; crypto via third parties.
  • Custodial: the platform holds your funds and can freeze or lose them.
  • Subject to regulation (Malta MFSA): reporting to authorities and freezes on order.

Verdict

B C ★ 3.8/5 ★ 2.1/5

The Maltese MFSA licence places BlackCatCard inside the EU perimeter, but funds are covered only by safeguarding and not by deposit insurance: a weak protection underpinning the middling score. Reports of marketing spam and crypto access only via third parties round out a profile better suited as a secondary account than a primary deposit.

Here BlackCatCard fares better: light KYC and above-average privacy for an EMI cut friction for anyone wanting a European IBAN without heavy onboarding. It remains custodial and Maltese, though, exposed to freezes and de-risking like any EMI: less friction, not more real sovereignty over funds.

Privacy & anonymity 30% 2.8
Fund control 20% 0.0
Censorship resistance 20% 3.0
Costs 10% 2.5

Promp's editorial rating based on real fees and net annual cost. Promp reviews third-party products independently.

"Sovereignty" rating: score computed on privacy/anonymity (30%), fund control (20%), censorship resistance (20%), trustless/auditability (20%) and costs (10%). Same data, different weights.

Reputation

What happened to people who used BlackCatCard, and what users say. External signals: they do not feed the promp.it rating.

Incidents & regulatory actions

History not verified

We have not yet completed the incident search for this service: no entries here does not mean no events.

Public reviews

4.6/5 33 reviews
  • App Store ↗ 4.6/5 33 reviews

    Exact figure from iTunes Lookup (German/EEA storefront). Small sample: App Store ratings are siloed per country and most of the app's reviews sit on Google Play (~3,100, not machine-readable from JSON-LD) → the App Store score alone is rosier than the overall picture.

Weighted average across 1 public review platform (33 reviews in total), weighted by volume. This is not our rating: it is those platforms’ average.

FAQ

Is BlackCatCard a real bank?

BlackCatCard operates under a EMI licence (MT). It is regulated by MFSA. Fund protection: Safeguarding — no deposit guarantee.

Can I send transfers to third-party IBANs with BlackCatCard?

The ability to send transfers to third-party IBANs is not documented; check the official website.

Does BlackCatCard support direct debits and utility billing?

SEPA direct debit (SDD): not documented. Utility-bill domiciliation: not documented.

Which fiat currencies does BlackCatCard support?

The number of supported fiat currencies is not documented. Multi-currency accounts: not documented.

Can I withdraw crypto on-chain from BlackCatCard?

On-chain crypto withdrawal is not documented; check the official website.

Sources

Show 2 more sources

Update history

✓ Terms unchanged since Jul 13, 2026

🔔 Notify me of changes

← All BlackCatCard plans