Costs, licensing, consumer protection Privacy, self-custody, censorship resistance

Rain Card Rain

A plan byRain Card

3.8/5 1.6/5
Account fee Free

Data verified on unchanged since the sources

Worth it if you want cashback in stable USDC rather than volatile tokens and operate in one of the 150+ supported jurisdictions.

Avoid it if you live in Italy (it is unavailable) or want consolidated operational data: it is an early-stage B2B2C product with still-limited information.

Rain is a card that pays cashback in USDC, operates as a Visa Principal Member and is available across more than 150 jurisdictions. It remains an early-stage product, with a B2B2C model and still limited operational data.

Rain

Price
Free
Issuance fee
Free
Cashback currency
USDC
Required staking
Nessuno
Net annual cost
Free

What's included

  • BH/UAE crypto exchange + card
  • CASP licensed
Free
Account fee
Not disclosed
Deposit guarantee
not declared
ATM withdrawal
Not disclosed
Network
47
Transparency: Low
47/100 · see methodology
47
Data exposure: Low
47/100 · lower is better for sovereignty · methodology

Data & conditions

Account fee Free
IBAN condiviso
Multi-currency No (single currency)
Outbound transfers to third-party IBANs No
Utility direct billing No
SEPA direct debit (SDD) No
ATM withdrawal not declared
Fund custody Custodial (platform holds funds)
KYC Full
Supported countries US, EEA · 30+ countries
Regulator multiple state regulators (Money Transmitter)
OAM Italy registration No
Segment B2C
MiCA / License status VASP/CASP

Strengths

  • Cashback in USDC stable; Visa Principal Member; 150+ jurisdictions.
  • No notable sovereignty advantage documented.

Weaknesses

  • Early-stage; dati operativi limited.
  • Custodial: the platform holds your funds and can freeze or lose them.
  • Full KYC required: verified identity, zero pseudonymity.

Verdict

B D ★ 3.8/5 ★ 1.6/5

The B tier reflects a promising setup: Visa Principal Member status, oversight by multiple state regulators as a Money Transmitter, and USDC cashback across more than 150 jurisdictions. Caution stems from the product's early-stage nature, its B2B2C model and still limited operational data, plus its unavailability in Italy.

On sovereignty Rain offers a good privacy score and coverage across Avalanche, Ethereum and a multi-blockchain setup, giving on-chain room. But full KYC and centralised custody, combined with anchoring to freezable USDC, keep the user within the issuer's control perimeter, with no real keys of their own.

Privacy & anonymity 30% 1.5
Fund control 20% 0.0
Censorship resistance 20% 1.5
Costs 10% 5.0

Promp's editorial rating based on real fees and net annual cost. Promp reviews third-party products independently.

"Sovereignty" rating: score computed on privacy/anonymity (30%), fund control (20%), censorship resistance (20%), trustless/auditability (20%) and costs (10%). Same data, different weights.

Reputation

What happened to people who used Rain Card, and what users say. External signals: they do not feed the promp.it rating.

Incidents & regulatory actions

Past incidents, resolved

Documented and closed events. They stay on file: an operator’s past is data, not a verdict.

  1. Hack / funds theft Severe $933K ✓ resolved

    Vulnerability in outdated Solana contracts: $932,804 withdrawn from card balances at two partner programs (Avici and Tria)

    On 28 Aug 2026 Rain's monitoring systems detected a vulnerability affecting “a small number of programs” running an outdated version of Rain's Solana contracts; other programs were not impacted. Rain states (X, 28 Aug, 22:26 CEST) it upgraded all programs to the current contracts, closing the flaw, engaged third-party forensics and will work with law enforcement and regulators; full reimbursement of all affected users promised. Rain has published no total of its own: the only official figures come from the reconciliations of the two programs that declared themselves hit — Avici (28 Aug, $500,859.22 across 1,685 users) and Tria (29 Aug, $431,945 across 636 users), for $932,804 and 2,321 users in total. Both stress that self-custodial wallets were untouched: only the separate Solana contract holding the balance topped up onto the card was hit. On 29 Aug Rain stated that ALL impacted cardholders have been repaid in full, with funds in users' contracts and every program upgraded and operating as expected; Avici and Tria separately confirmed refunds completed, each with an extra 10%. Forensics continue. No further card program has declared itself affected.

    ↗ source

verified on

FAQ

Is Rain Card a real bank?

Rain Card operates under a VASP/CASP licence (BH). The deposit-protection scheme is not documented for this service; check the official terms.

Can I send transfers to third-party IBANs with Rain Card?

The ability to send transfers to third-party IBANs is not documented; check the official website.

Does Rain Card support direct debits and utility billing?

SEPA direct debit (SDD): not documented. Utility-bill domiciliation: not documented.

Which fiat currencies does Rain Card support?

The number of supported fiat currencies is not documented. Multi-currency accounts: not documented.

Can I withdraw crypto on-chain from Rain Card?

On-chain crypto withdrawal is not documented; check the official website.

Sources

Update history

✓ Terms unchanged since Jun 1, 2026

🔔 Notify me of changes

← All Rain Card plans