Costs, licensing, consumer protection Privacy, self-custody, censorship resistance

Findomestic — Carta Aura Carta Aura

A plan by Findomestic — Carta Aura · Visa/Mastercard

2.9/5 1.3/5
FX markup 1.5%

Data verified on unchanged since the sources

Findomestic's Carta Aura (BNP Paribas Group) is a revolving credit card on the Visa or Mastercard network, with a low annual fee (~€12/year per 2026 sources, not yet confirmed against the current Information Sheet) and a 1.5% FX fee on foreign-currency purchases. As a revolving consumer credit line, the APR is high — over 20%, up to roughly 24.07% when repaid by postal slip — making the card expensive if not settled regularly.

Carta Aura

What's included

  • Membership fee ~€12/year (+ ~€1/month management) — 2026 sources, not yet confirmed against the current Information Sheet
  • Visa or Mastercard network · revolving credit card
  • 1.5% FX on foreign-currency purchases
  • APR over 20%, up to ~24.07% when repaid by postal slip
  • Cash advance ~€4.62 (2026) · no cashback or points
1.5%
FX markup
Not disclosed
Cashback
€12
Annual fee
Free
Issuance fee
24.07%
APR
58
Transparency: Medium
58/100 · see methodology
58
Data exposure: Medium
58/100 · lower is better for sovereignty · methodology

Data & conditions

Network Visa/Mastercard
Card type Revolving credit
Backing Unsecured
APR 24.07% (variable)
Credit limit €2,500
Issuing bank Findomestic Banca S.p.A.
Issuance fee Free
Annual fee €12/year
Free ATM limit Cash advance: from the official Information Sheet (dated edition) max 4% of the amount, minimum €3.62; 2026 sources indicate a fixed fee of ~€4.62, not confirmed against the current Information Sheet
ATM withdrawal 4%
FX markup 1.5%
Cashback Not disclosed
Contactless Yes
Virtual card Yes
KYC Full
Privacy 2/10
Supported countries EEA · 1+ countries
Funding / solidity Carta di credito revolving di Findomestic, credito al consumo del Gruppo BNP Paribas
Regulator Banca d'Italia (vigilanza bancaria)
Segment B2C
Funding / solidityFindomestic revolving credit card, BNP Paribas Group consumer credit
MiCA / License status Licenza bancaria IT (Gruppo BNP Paribas) · credito al consumo Revolving credit card on an IT banking licence (Bank of Italy)

Strengths

  • Low annual fee (~€12/year per 2026 sources) versus other revolving cards
  • Visa or Mastercard network, wide acceptance; long-standing, widespread BNP Paribas Group brand
  • 1.5% FX, lower than many competing revolving cards
  • Included services: anti-fraud SMS, discounts/partnerships area, freephone support
  • No notable sovereignty advantage documented.

Weaknesses

  • Revolving product with high APR (over 20%, up to ~24.07%): high-cost risk if not paid off
  • No cashback or points programme; add-on costs (monthly management fee, optional insurance) that stack up
  • Awkward document transparency: the current Information Sheet is not easily found online and several 2026 figures cannot be checked against official documents
  • Traditional credit card: not self-custody — the account requires full KYC, a credit check, and can be closed or reported to credit bureaus by the issuer.
  • Full KYC required: verified identity, zero pseudonymity.
  • Funds can be frozen at the platform’s discretion.
  • Subject to regulation (Revolving credit card on an IT banking licence (Bank of Italy)): reporting to authorities and freezes on order.
  • FATF-aligned jurisdiction: strong cooperation with authorities.

Verdict

C D ★ 2.9/5 ★ 1.3/5

Carta Aura has two points in its favour — a low annual fee and below-average 1.5% FX — but it remains a revolving consumer credit card, and that weighs. The APR over 20% (up to ~24.07%) makes it expensive for those who don't pay off, there is no cashback and add-on costs stack up. On top of this is poor document transparency: the current Information Sheet is not easily found and some 2026 figures cannot be checked against official documents. The low rating reflects the revolving nature and these limits; consider only with full awareness of the cost of credit.

A credit card is a credit line, not custody of funds: there is neither self-custody nor a user balance here. It remains a fully tracked and censorable instrument — full KYC, a Findomestic Banca (BNP Paribas Group) issuer that profiles transactions and can suspend the line. On the sovereignty lens it is the opposite of trustless tools: no anonymity, no censorship resistance.

Privacy & anonymity 30% 1.0
Fund control 20% 2.2
Censorship resistance 20% 1.4
Trustless / auditability 20% 0.0
Costs 10% 3.0

Promp's editorial rating based on real fees and net annual cost. Promp reviews third-party products independently.

"Sovereignty" rating: score computed on privacy/anonymity (30%), fund control (20%), censorship resistance (20%), trustless/auditability (20%) and costs (10%). Same data, different weights.

Reputation

What happened to people who used Findomestic — Carta Aura, and what users say. External signals: they do not feed the promp.it rating.

Incidents & regulatory actions

Past incidents, resolved

Documented and closed events. They stay on file: an operator’s past is data, not a verdict.

  1. Regulatory action Moderate ✓ resolved

    Italian competition authority: €300,000 fine for failing to state how long it would take to suspend instalments during Covid

    By decision no. 28511 of 22 December 2020 (case PS11798, Bulletin no. 2 of 11 January 2021), Italy's competition and market authority fined Findomestic Banca €300,000 over an information omission on its own website: the page explaining how to suspend instalments on loans and leases under article 56(2)(c) of the Cura Italia emergency decree (decree-law 18 of 17 March 2020) stated the suspension was free of charge, but nowhere said how long the bank would take to reply — neither an estimated nor a maximum time. The downloadable request form did not state it either. Who it applied to, precisely: the suspension at issue was the one for loans and leases to small and medium-sized businesses, and the parties protected by the decision are «micro-enterprises» (fewer than 10 employees and under €2 million turnover), which the Italian Consumer Code treats as consumers for protection against unfair commercial practices. It was not the suspension of instalments on a card or a consumer loan. The figure that makes the omission concrete came from Findomestic itself: average processing time declared at two or three days, yet among the examples the bank put on the record are a request from late March granted on 14 May 2020, one from 31 March accepted on 15 May, one from 21 April approved on 15 May — «and other similar situations with response times exceeding 30 days». Anyone asking for a suspension in order not to miss an instalment could not know whether the answer would take three days or six weeks, and so could not weigh up alternatives. The bank's defence was that no rule required it to publish maximum processing times. The authority replied that the omission breaches article 22 of the Consumer Code regardless, because it is material: and it set the fine on the operator's size (2019 revenues of about €1,275 million) and on the «weakness of those targeted by the practice, namely micro-enterprises under difficulty and pressure connected to the health emergency». One notable element on the record is the Bank of Italy's opinion: as far as its own remit goes, the same conduct «does not amount to breaches» of the banking transparency rules. Two authorities, two yardsticks: what clears the supervisor's transparency check can still be an unfair practice towards the customer. The conduct ran from March 2020 to late September 2020, when Findomestic amended the site to add that the outcome would be communicated by email «within a maximum of 10 days from receipt of the complete documentation». The decision prohibits repeating the practice and orders payment within thirty days; it could be appealed to the Lazio regional administrative court within sixty days and we have no record of the outcome of any appeal.

    ↗ source

verified on

Public reviews

4.5/5 54,389 reviews
  • Google Play ↗ 4.4/5 29,292 reviews

    Value taken from the Play listing's structured data (4.4084 across 29,292), not from the rounded label. Same general-purpose Findomestic app, not specific to the Aura card.

  • App Store ↗ 4.7/5 25,097 reviews

    Rating of the «Findomestic Banca Mobile» app on the Italian storefront, read from Apple's public endpoint (exact value 4.66709 across 25,097). It is the bank's general-purpose app, not the Aura card alone: it measures the overall digital experience of a Findomestic customer.

Weighted average across 2 public review platforms (54,389 reviews in total), weighted by volume. This is not our rating: it is those platforms’ average.

FAQ

How much does the Findomestic Carta Aura cost?

Per 2026 sources the membership fee is around €12/year, on top of which a monthly management fee (~€1/month) may apply; exact figures should be confirmed on the current Information Sheet. There is no cashback or points programme.

What kind of card is it and how much does the credit cost?

It is a revolving credit card (a rotating consumer credit line): repayment is in instalments with a high APR, over 20% and up to roughly 24.07% when repaid by postal slip. The FX fee on foreign-currency purchases is 1.5%.

Sources

Update history

✓ Terms unchanged since Jul 12, 2026

🔔 Notify me of changes

← All Findomestic — Carta Aura plans